2011 Young Artist Piano Competition Winners

The 2011 YAPC was held on Friday, March 11 at Shawn’s Pianos, 221 Newfield Avenue, West Hartford, CT. Estrid Eklof and Bridget de Moura Castro served as co-chairs for this event. The 2011 competition drew five competitors from throughout the state of Connecticut, representing Vassar College and the Hartt School, and study with Luiz de … More 2011 Young Artist Piano Competition Winners

2011 Eastern Division Competition

2011 Eastern Division Competition, January 8, 2011 MTNA Junior Piano Performance Competition Winner: Annling Wang (Svitlana Fiorito) MTNA Senior Piano Competition Winner: Alex Beyer (Yoshie Akimoto) MTNA Senior String Performance Competition Alternate: Lillian Lee (Annie Trepanier) MTNA Chamber Music Competition Winner: Arioso Trio (Carrie Koffman) Anthony Speranza / Saxophone; Kendra Emery / Saxophone; Cihan Yucel … More 2011 Eastern Division Competition

2010 MTNA Competition

Winners and state representatives will advance to the MTNA Division Competitions in January. Teachers names are listed in parentheses. Many thanks to David Westfall, Margreet Francis and Carolyn Halsted, who chair the MTNA competitions within the Connecticut State Music Teachers Association. MTNA Junior Piano Performance Competition Representative: Annling Wang (Svitlana Fiorito) MTNA Junior String Performance … More 2010 MTNA Competition

2010 Young Artist Piano Competition Winners

First Place and Recipient of Ethel Bonars Storrs Gold Medal: Stefan Gurtner (Austria), Graduate student at the Hartt School of Music, where he studies with David Westfall and Luiz de Moura Castro. Second Prize (sponsored by Farmington Valley Concert series and Harmony Hill Concerts): Patricia Guadagnole (Brazil), Senior at the Hartt School of Music where … More 2010 Young Artist Piano Competition Winners

2010 Eastern Division Competition

MTNA Senior Competitions Piano EASTERN DIVISION ALTERNATE: Alex Beyer (Yoshie Akimoto) Brass EASTERN DIVISION WINNER: John DelVento (Charles Emerich) Strings EASTERN DIVISION ALTERNATE: Chelsea Smith (Ann Setzer) Woodwinds EASTERN DIVISION ALTERNATE: Hye Yeon Chang (Fabio Witkowski) MTNA Young Artist Competitions Woodwinds EASTERN DIVISION HONORABLE MENTION: Joseph Abad (Carrie Koffman) Winner